44

Happy Birthday to me.
Happy Birthday to me.
Happy Birthday, dear me-ee.
Happy Birthday to me.
(Hopefully, I’ll hear this in 8-part harmony and sung by 100 voices at my chorale concert tonight.)

Today I went shopping, first for WineGuy’s nurse, then my hairdresser, and then for me. I got the better end of the deal. The nurse will get a cashmere sweater. The hairdresser will get a gift card to Saks. I got a Linda Lundstrom jacket and a fabulous new necklace! It’s a cinnamon zircon (real gem, not zirconia) set in 18K rose gold and surrounded by diamonds, which are set in 18K yellow gold. The pendant hangs from a gold wire neck instead of a chain. When I see WineGuy later, I’ll tell him what he bought me for my birthday.

Why doesn’t WineGuy buy these things himself? Because I was raised in the jewelry business, and I have very specific taste. When we got engaged, he told my dad to let me choose what I wanted. I designed my own ring, and I always choose my own jewelry. However, I always run it by WineGuy so he has some say in the matter. I am a spoiled brat … like my children.

5 thoughts on “44

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!

    Your virtual gift from me is an airplane ticket (first class of course) across the pond to Jolly old England to visit our friend that I know you miss so, and then after a few days of alone time then Wine Guy (no kids) will meet you in France to do the wine thing.

Leave a Reply

