Off Kilter

Do you ever have one of those weeks where you’re slightly off-kilter? I am having one of those.

On Tuesday afternoon, I was putting something away in the refrigerator, while yelling at Wild Thing – a bad combination, I know. I stood up and turned around and the refrigerator door smacked me right in the face. I have a lovely purple bruise on that cheek and just the slightest shiner under that eye.

Yesterday, after I dropped the boys at school, I stopped at Starbucks for a latte before a 9:30 appointment. There were no comfy chairs in the shop, so I went and sat in my car. And promptly fell asleep. Until 9:25. Fortunately, I was just a few minutes away from my destination, but I was still late. I stopped at a furniture store on the way home from my meeting. I got out of the car and closed the door and went to step on the sidewalk. I thought the slab was even with the pavement, but it wasn’t. I caught my toe on the step, tripped forward and caught myself but my momentum was too strong and I fell flat on my face. Time moved in slow motion as I went down: I let go of my keys and threw my hands out. I lifted my chin up so I wouldn’t smash my teeth. I knocked myself silly. I stood up and made sure I wasn’t bleeding. Then I looked around to see if anyone witnessed my fall, but thankfully there wasn’t a soul around. I put myself back together and took a deep breath, grateful that my ribs weren’t broken. I’m lucky I didn’t break my wrist(s) either. I looked around the furniture store quickly and raced home. I was so exhausted I crawled under the covers until I came back to myself.

What’s more, I blew my voice out and have developed a chest cold. My chest is tight, and I’m coughing like dog in a kennel. What on earth has happened to me?

In other news, it is Grandparents’ Day at the kids’ school tomorrow. We told my parents and my in-laws about it months ago. My in-laws are arriving this afternoon. We’re looking forward to seeing them, but I hope I feel better. My parents, on the other hand, will not be here. Why? Because my father scheduled elective surgery for himself this week; he absolutely insisted he had to have it done now and could not wait another week. Grrr. He had his colostomy reversed. The surgery went well, but he was in a lot of pain yesterday afternoon. Fortunately My Brother, The Doctor came down to be with my mom. Thank you, DocBro, because I can’t take time off during WineGuy’s busy season.

I need chicken soup.

6 thoughts on “Off Kilter

  1. I’m sorry it was a bad week. I think the planets were misaligned or something because it’s been that kind of week for me, too.

    That soup looks delicious.

  2. OK, there HAD to have been some sort of planetary mishap – too many of us had truly sucky weeks!

    I am very glad that you were not badly hurt.

Leave a Reply

