What I Love About You

It seems like many of my friends and blogmates are having rough times right now. I want to pull myself out of the pity-party and spread a little love around this Valentine’s Day 2007.

WineGuy: I love you because you’re brilliant and funny and worldly and wise. I love you because you are patient and kind, even when I am a stark, raving succubus on a broom. I love you for watching my stupid TV shows with me. I love you for your fierce loyalty and dedication to your family and craft.

Wizard: I love you because you are the most amazingly bright boy I have ever met. I love you because you are an old soul in a new body. I love you for sharing my passion in reading, especially Harry Potter, and for burying yourself in a book and shutting out the world, just like me. I love you because you’re helpful when I ask, and even when I don’t sometimes. I love you for being a wonderful big brother to Wild Thing and Moose.

Wild Thing: I love you for your indomitable spirit. You give meaning and life to the word “fighter”. I love your dimpled smile and luscious lashes. I love you your silly sense of humor and your enthusiasm for life. I love your perseverance and courage to tackle things that don’t come easily to you. I love you for your ability and willingness to play for hours with Moose, even though it means the upstairs will be trashed beyond recognition. I love your musical ability and for sharing my love of music and singing.

Moose: I love you because you’re my baby boy, even though you’ll be as big as me in no time. I love you because you learn things so fast: reading, writing, riding a bike. I love you for your musicality at such a young age. I love your tenderness and gentle streak, despite your “tough guy” image. I love your baby-toothed smile and your rosy, chubby cheeks. I love you for your willingness to learn; your mind is like a sponge.

August Moms: I love you all for your collected wisdom. I love you all for your humor and for keeping me grounded through these child-rearing years. I love you for running my life and for allowing me to run yours. I love you for the tremendous support system you have been to me in my life and to all the rest who have needed you and still do. I love you for your diverse opinions; even though we may disagree, I still listen to you. If I listed you individually, I would certainly overlook someone and offend them, which I dare not do.

BFF: I love you more than a sister because we chose each other as friends. I love you for being smarter than me and always knowing the right thing to say. I love you for standing by me in the darkest hours of my life. I love you for making time for me despite your busy life. I love you for your friendship that carries me through my life.

Calvin: I love you, too, for your wisdom and candor. I love you for all the free legal advice and for allowing me to give you some, too, even though it’s probably malpractice! I love you for your spontaneity and willingness to run out for a bagel or off to the movies at a moment’s notice. I love you for raising such wonderful boys who are friends to my boys.

The California Girls/Twins: I love you for being and remaining my friends for forty – 40! – years. I love you for staying in touch and still caring about me and my family.

Spy: I love you for your steadfast friendship for thirty years. I love your stability and your candor and your dry, wry wit. I love you for your love and understanding of the wide world. I love you for keeping me tethered to the insider’s DC, the one only we natives understand.

My Blog Readers: I love you for showing up regularly to read the trivial nonsense in my life. I can’t believe you find this blather interesting, but Christina reminds me that my quotidian drama may be fascinating to someone else.

Happy Valentine’s Day 2007 to you all!

4 thoughts on “What I Love About You

  1. I love you for your unabashed honesty, your love for and loyalty to your family, your intelligence and humour, and your support and friendship. Happy Valentine’s Day Alto2.

  2. What a lovely way to celebrate Valentine’s Day! 🙂

    I love you for your wit and wisdom, your yummy recipes, your great advice, and the fact that I can usually find a smile in your blog posts, even when you’re having a bad day.

Leave a Reply

