Where and How

Where were you on September 11, 2001? How has it affected your life?

I drove Wizard to Kindergarten and stopped at Sam’s Club on the way home. Wild Thing was two then and not in preschool that morning. We shopped a little and were waiting to check out when a clerk said that a plane flew into a building in New York City. I thought to myself, “What is she, crazy? That’s impossible.” The clerk repeated herself, and again I thought, “How stupid are you that you can’t even get a TV news report right.” I shook my head and said, “Yeah, sure, lady.” She urged me to get home right away. I got home and flipped on the television. There were Katie Couric and Matt Lauer reporting that a jet crashed into the World Trade Center just minutes before. OMG, the clerk was right! I remained glued to the TV set and watched, horrified, as fiery debris and human bodies rained from the towers. The house was a tornado of images and sounds: towers falling, planes hitting the Pentagon and crashing in Pennsylvania, the normally silent phone ringing off the hook. WineGuy called over and over again with news reports and updates. Finally, Wizard’s school called: early dismissal, come get your kids NOW.

Wild Thing and I jumped in the car and raced down the highway to Wizard’s school. I remember driving 80+ mph down the interstate, thinking “just let a cop try to pull me over. He’ll have to follow me to school and then drag my ass out of the car.” Like everyone else, all I wanted was to get my kid and bring him home. There were no police cars on the road that morning; the highway was eerily deserted. I got to school (in record time), grabbed Wizard and raced back home. We spent half the afternoon glued to the television, inexorably drawn to the morbid reports coming from New York, Washington, and Shanksville, Pa.

I felt violated in so many ways: Washington, D.C. was my hometown, and the Pentagon was inviolate . . . or so we thought. Armageddon at command central? Unthinkable. We lived in Central Pennsylvania for eight years and moved back to Florida in early 2001. I still missed our bucolic life and was still adjusting to suburbia. A jet crashing into those verdant meadows? Unfathomable. My roots had been desecrated.

After a while, we had to extinguish the news. Our brains could not process any more horror. We took to watching re-runs of old TV shows on TV Land, just to feel safe and normal, to let our brains rest. We tried to explain things to Wizard. He was wise for his 5 years, but he was still a little boy. He understood what happened, but he was afraid. We were (are) lucky to live in a place not urban enough to interest terrorists, but The Zone’s proximity to Miami and Tampa – major deepwater ports and urban areas – made us think twice about our relative safety. Two weeks later, we made a weekend trip to Walt Disney World. I had never seen it so empty. A week after that, I went to San Diego for that year’s August96 Moms’ Reunion. I wasn’t going to miss it, but so many moms cancelled, refusing to leave their families. (Reunions haven’t been the same since then.)

How have the terrorist attacks changed me?

The petty ways:

  • I detest the invasiveness and inconvenience of air travel now. Whereas traveling used to be exciting and glamorous, it is now a colossal pain in the ass. Petty, I know, but true.
  • I have become a complete “hawk” with respect to Israeli politics. For once, I agree with my oldest brother, The Egg’s, right-wing politics; he and his family live in Israel. That land is our land. It isn’t the Palestinians’ land. They’re not entitled to a square inch, so they should get the hell out. Settlements, yes. Concrete barrier, yes. Give back territory? Never. ,
  • WineGuy is apathetic about visiting Israel, and he has discouraged me from traveling there to attend my nieces’ weddings in the last year.
  • I long for the New York skyline of my youth, with the Twin Towers anchoring southern Manhattan. The Empire State and Chrysler Buildings look lonely without their big brothers standing guard for them.

miss-liberty-twin-towers.jpg

The positive ways:

  • My children and I have made some wonderful friends of people who specifically moved here to get away from the New York area.
  • I keep in better touch with my friends and family in New York, Washington, and Israel. When the Israeli nieces and nephews come to the USA, I make sure to see them.
  • I pay closer attention to Middle East politics, especially in Israel and about the Palestinians. WineGuy does too.
  • My children understand world geography better. Wizard has a keen interest in American and international politics now.

So, tell me, readers, where were you on 9/11/2001 and how has it affected your life?

10 thoughts on “Where and How

  1. Pingback: Those Bright Blue Skies « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  2. Pingback: Six years ago « Life in the Bogs

  3. Pingback: Where (and how) Part 1 « life in the minivan lane

  4. You got some interesting responses to your questions, Alto2. It was good to write a little about it since it was on my mind.

    Thanks for your input on the troll situation too. I appreciate it.

  5. As I am late to this, I wont be responding in my blog as it will seem out of place. However, I know it was mentioned on our list how the weather stood out that day. Today I had to be in downtown San Diego. Skies glaringly blue. Gorgeous – and yet, unsettling at this time of the year. Like many others, I think I would prefer rain/grey skies anytime during the week of 9/11 vs those sunny skies. What I remember from that day – being so far away on the left coast as I am – was the feeling as if time had stopped. I remember moving through the day in a fog. Sportsboy was with his dad so my responsibilities for others was minimal. I went to work in a zombie state and met others who were in the same frame of mind. Radios blared. We left early. Then glued again to the tv as I had been getting ready in the morning. Peter Jennings. How I miss him. Talking on the phone to everyone close to me. Talking for a very long time to Jax as we both watched Peter. Knowing down to my bones that the world around me had just felt a tremendous shift that would, indeed, change things forever.

  6. I forgot to answer how it personally impacted me! Many of the same ways it did to you. I pay much closer attention to politics here at home now. Locally and nationally. Ever vigilant πŸ™‚ I talk to strangers more. I loved how the nation felt so unified in those weeks after, and I try to keep that spirit of ‘we’ with me as I move through my day. Ah yes, the San Diego reunion. Well, it was impossible not to be deeply disappointed. A lot of effort went into putting it together and attendance was going to be higher than ever. Still, those who came I think found some source of healing and peace and perhaps even defiance in the face of the nation’s crippling fears about travel.
    You can be gone in an instant. All those cliches are true. You regret more the things you leave unsaid, than the things you may blurt out wrongly. Speak your mind and your heart. Love your family unconditionally. And yourself.

  7. Pingback: Memory « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  8. Pingback: Those Bright Blue Skies Redux | Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

