Dear Dad

My father passed away on Thursday, October 11, 2007. He died at home in his sleep. He had been unwell for the last year or so and took a turn for the worse at the beginning of this week. Dad suffered from so many things late in life: diabetes, high blood pressure, vascular disease, kidney problems. Up until the last month or so, his attitude was pretty good, but he was a difficult patient. He had his last conversation with my mother and some of my brothers. I don’t remember the last time I spoke with him, but I’m sure I told him I loved him. He was sick of being sick; he was ready to go.

My greatest regret is that I never told him how I did on Jeopardy. He was a big fan of the show and was so proud of my having “made it”.  I trust he knows how I did and is proud of me. The surreal part of life right now is that in the midst of making funeral arrangements I am also making appointments for television and radio interviews. I owe Radio Mom a big debt of gratitude for sending out my press release.

Not sure when I’ll post again. Right now, I’m at my mother’s house (on the east coast of South Florida) and am posting from her computer. As more family arrives, time alone will be precious. The funeral is on Monday, October 15, 2007. I’m going back home on Tuesday, and I fully intend to be at the big Jeopardy party WineGuy and I are hosting on Wednesday, October 17. Dad would have wanted it that way; Jewish tradition be damned.

Please say prayer for my mother. She and Dad were married for 57 years. The one bright spot in all of this grief is that my niece gave birth to a baby girl on Tuesday, October 9, 2007. She is my oldest brother’s first grandchild and my parents’ first great-grandchild. At least Dad lived long enough to witness the arrival of the fourth generation of our family.

7 thoughts on “Dear Dad

  1. When I heard that your dad passed away, one of the first things that ran through my mind was how upset I was that he didn’t get to see you on Jeopardy, but in my heart of hearts I know he know how you did. The other thing that ran through my mind was the annousment of your grand niece being born just a couple days before. How life is that way with the ups and downs and sometimes they are close together. >>HUGS<<

  2. Alto2, you and yours have been in our thoughts and prayers all week. We made a toast to your dad last night (HEY — I’m Irish, I was at a pub, and I had a Guinness in my hand — it’s what we do).

  3. We’ve had a housefull of guests so just caught up with your news.

    Just posting a note to let you know we care
    you and yours will be in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

