Book Fair

I’ll admit it. I’m a liar. I said that I wasn’t going to spend all day every day this week at the book fair. I have spent two whole days there already, and it’s only Tuesday.

Yesterday, I arrived at 8:00 a.m. to help decorate the gym. My heart wasn’t in it, but I made a commitmet to the chair of the decorating committee, Nutmeg, who is 8 months’ pregnant. Thankfully, a whole decorating and set-up crew arrived shortly thereafter. We worked for 7.5 solid hours converting an ordinary school gymnasium into a winter wonderland, “Book Blizzard,” Scholastic’s theme this year. We papered the walls with snowy backdrops, created a Polar Bear’s Den out of a display tent, fashioned igloos out of camping tents and white plastic tablecloths, and plastered the gym with miles of white paper chains and white lights. The funniest part of yesterday was when Nutmeg asked me to string some white twinkle-lights across a tent frame. I had cable-tied nearly the entire strand when she asked me, “Did you check the string to make sure the lights work?” “Huh?” I replied, “I’m a Jewish girl. I know ‘zippity doodah’ about Christmas lights.” As it turned out, the strand had a bad section, so I had to take it down and hang another one. That prompted my co-worker, Patty, to inquire whether I was available to help her decorate her house for Christmas. No, thanks. A few minutes later my friend, Hat (also Jewish), came over to help. Patty asked her to help with the white lights. Hat replied, “I’m Jewish. I don’t know from Christmas lights.” Hello? Is there an echo in here? We all had a good laugh. By the end of the day, I was thoroughly exhausted, but I was glad I kept my word to Nutmeg. She was grateful for the help.

Today, I had no intention of staying the whole day at the book fair either. WineGuy and I had a 7:15 a.m. conference with Wild Thing’s teacher. I dropped Moose at his class and called Calvin to see if she was interested in going for a bagel. Easily coerced, she came along gladly. Afterwards, I ran an errand and was back at school to meet Wild Thing’s class at the book fair at 10:00 a.m. I ended up staying until after 3:00 p.m., when Wizard sauntered in with his classmates from band. They needed my help, and they were glad to have it. I got the added bonus of lots of personal recognition for my Jeopardy! appearances. Nothing like lots of compliments to lift one’s spirits. 🙂

Tomorrow, I’ll meet Moose and his class at the book fair at 10:45 a.m. It will be terrific if I got out of there before noon.

One thought on “Book Fair

Leave a Reply

