Halloween 2007

Time it was, and what a time it was. It was
A time of innocence,
A time of confidences.
Long ago it must be.
I have a photograph.
Preserve your memories.
They’re all that’s left you.
~Paul Simon

Time it was, on Halloween, that I would haul out boxes of fun decorations and spend an entire October weekend putting up spooky garland, spiderwebs, and such. When we lived up north, I routinely carved elaborate designs into two or three pumpkins, delighting the neighborhood children and my own as well. Then, my husband got all safety-minded on me and discouraged me from placing lit candles in carved pumpkins. “Fire hazard,” he pontificated. So, I settled for pumpkin lights from WalMart, not the same as flickering candles, but at least they were lights. Then he said, pumpkins were messy and smelly, and “wouldn’t it just be easier to plug in one of those plastic pumpkins we have?” What’s the point, anymore?

October 2007’s weekends drifted away from me like smoke from an autumn chimney. One weekend I was laughing and chatting with my friends in San Antonio, the next weekend I was in Delray Beach making funeral arrangements for my father. The weekend after that I was back in Delray Beach trying to salvage my mother’s birthday for her. Last weekend, WineGuy was on-call, and I was worn out. Days gone, spectrally evanescent.

Here we are at Halloween again. Wild Thing and Moose are terribly excited and have been planning their costumes for days. You see, we are old-fashioned when it comes to costumes. We don’t buy costumes; we make them from clothes and things we have. Wild Thing has a set of children’s scrubs, which my mother bought for him as a birthday gift, and a small stethoscope, also a birthday gift. WT called WineGuy’s nurse to have her send home a mask, gloves, and booties. Moose has a brand-new cowboy hat I brought him from Texas. He’ll wear it with a vest, jeans, and a dress shirt. I’ll loan him a bandana, and he’ll be all set. I’m not sure if Wizard will go trick-or-treating this year. I’d like to think he was old enough to take his brothers around, but he’ll just boss them around. Once again, it will be my job to drag the kids around the neighborhood while WineGuy sits in the air-conditioned house answering the doorbell. Yippee.

I feel like that spider looks: grumbly and possessive. Listening to music will help. “Thriller,” I think.

What Your Halloween Habits Say About You

You’re a friendly person, but not the life of the party. You like making someone else’s day – and you’ll dress up if you think of a really fun costume.
You definitely think of yourself as someone who has a dark side. And part of having that dark side means not showing it.Your inner child is bittersweet, thoughtful, and never too greedy.You truly fear the dark side of humanity. You are a true misanthrope.You’re prone to be quite emotional and over dramatic. Deep down, you enjoy being scared out of your mind… even if you don’t admit it.You are a total overachiever and workaholic. You’re the type of person who plans their elaborate Halloween costume weeks in advance.

What’s Your Halloween Personality?

4 thoughts on “Halloween 2007

  1. Your first paragraph reminded me of a quote I read yesterday:

    “Those seemingly interminable dark walks between houses, long before street-lit safety became an issue, were more adrenalizing than the mountains of candy filling the sack. Sadly Halloween, with our good-natured attempts to protect the little ones, from the increasingly dangerous traffic and increasingly sick adults, has become an utter bore.” ~Lauren Springer

    I had planned to carve a pumpkin this year, just for the fun of it, but the time got away from me too.

  2. I hope your Halloween suprises you by being fun. Maybe you could dress up in costume to drag take the boys around the neighbourhood? Or reserve a special Halloween treat just for yourself? You deserve a treat!!

  3. I finally put up the decorations on Sunday. Mostly fun lights for us too though Sportsboy added a noise making tombstone to the mix this year. I will run out and get some spider webs for an empty trellis which will complete the look at the front door tonight. Good thing I waited though – if I had put those things out as planned the weekend before, they would have been blown away to bits by the killer wind and what remained would be covered in ash. Sometimes laziness pays off šŸ™‚

  4. we don’t do halloween here, although the major chain stores are trying to convince us that its a great aussie tradition because it’s another money making opportunity fpr them

    you may be feeling like a hollow pumpkin right now, but it’s nice to see the flicker of light still shining through that smiley mouth šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

