Good Do Bee

If you’re as old as I am, you will remember a television program called “Romper Room”. On this early TV program for pre-schoolers, there was a character named Mr. Do Bee, who aimed to teach good behavior. I was a pretty rotten kid, but I reformed as an adult. As such, when WineGuy inquired whether I wanted to visit my mother this weekend, I decided to be a Good Do Bee: “Do be helpful. Do be attentive.” In other words, do the right thing and ignore the growing piles of mail, laundry, homework, and crap at home.

So, I did the right thing and drove back over to the east coast of Florida this morning. I timed my drive so I could listen to “Car Talk” and “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” on National Public Radio. At least I had a good laugh before I walked into the unknown. I figured I would do or go wherever my mother asked, regardless of my own personal interest. For example, one of her friends invited her to go to the movies this afternoon . . . at 4:30 p.m. . . . to see “Lars and the Real Girl”. Not my optimal choice of movie time or selection, but that’s what “the girls” want to see. My job is to be the chauffeur and keep my mouth shut. We’ll probably have dinner afterwards, and with my shlemazel (dumb luck), we’ll end up at Outhouse Steak House — Moose’s term Outback Steak House for dinner. Food snobbery is lost on these women.

Nevertheless, the one good thing about this trip is an excursion to Whole Foods Market. I was able to purchase Damson Plum jam for a pumpkin-plum tart I want to test for Thanksgiving. I couldn’t find plum preserves anywhere near The Zone. If the tart recipe is a success, I’ll post it on The Need To Feed.

Tricks or treats? Day 3, NaBloPoMo 2006
9 thoughts on “Good Do Bee

  1. MY hope is that if my kids see me treating my elders (i.e., my in-laws) with respect that when they become parents and I’m the grandparent that they’ll treat me with respect and bring my grandkids to visit.

    Least, that’s the plan.

    So hopefully the kids will treat you and WineGuy well when you’re older.

  2. I did watch Romper Room, but I don’t remember the Do Bee πŸ™‚ Either way, you are doing good. As TM pointed out, you are setting a great example for your kids.

  3. I watched Bozo and Captain Kangaroo when I did watch. I actually do not remember watching much TV when I was little. I remember the sandbox , our swing set and looking for minnows in the creek by my house.

  4. you’re a good kid! i’m looking in my romper room mirror, and i see YOU πŸ™‚ i don’t know if you’re a red sea pedestrian like i am (i saw you used yiddish) but i have tons of memories of visiting my grandparents and great aunts in south florida. i can relate! (although i’m probably a little older than you, lol!)

    seriously, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. I remember the show. I chuckled when I saw your title, as I was immediately transported back to Romper Room.

    You’re a good daughter. πŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to the tart recipe (if it turns out well, of course).

Leave a Reply

