Groaning Board MMVII

Most of you know I love to cook. WineGuy and I host Thanksgiving at our house every year, with the exception of last year. I make a feast. I use every pot, every pan, every spoon, every piece of china and crystal in the house. Sometimes WineGuy cleans up, and sometimes I do so he can visit with his family, which usually comprises the entire guest list. This year, my mother has agreed to come for Thanksgiving; for once, I’ll have a blood relative at my table.

Would you like to see this year’s menu? I thought you would. Grab a Prevacid and let’s go!

First Course: Old Fashioned Peanut Soup

Second Course: Pear, Gorgonzola, and Mesclun Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

Main Course: Roasted Turkey with Homemade Turkey Gravy

Side Dishes: Roasted Red Pepper and Mushroom Tart, Butternut Squash Tart, Homemade Mashed Potatoes, Stuffing, Cranberry-Orange Relish

Vegetables: Spinach and Artichoke Casserole, Fresh Green Beans

Desserts: Pumpkin Plum Tart (homemade), Apple Galette, Kahlua Pecan Pie (from the bakery)

Wine: Russian Hill Pinot Noir or Syrah

So far, the guest list is up to 17 people, but I’ll welcome more. Who else is coming?

Last year, I was thinking about jail.
5 thoughts on “Groaning Board MMVII

  1. I did the “prepare the feast thing” last year at both Thanksgiving and Christmas. I plan to do a big dinner at Christmas for some visiting friends from Venezuela, so I think we’ll go out for Thanksgiving this year.

Leave a Reply

