What a Tart!

Normally, I save the food posts for The Need to Feed. But, it’s 11:00 p.m., and I need something to talk about today. The Pumpkin Plum Tart (Gourmet magazine, Nov. 2007) was a big hit here. Pumpkin Plum TartWineGuy and all the boys loved it. I even ate a piece, and I really don’t like pumpkin. The difference was that the filling was a pumpkin custard, which I made with some very high-quality cassia cinnamon. It made all the difference in the world. I’m going to improve the result by increasing the amount of plum jam on the bottom and maybe mixing it with some cherry preserves to balance out the overly sweet pumpkin.

Speaking of tarts, I saw a great recipe for a Raspberry Tart in one of Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa cookbooks. The picture in that cookbook shows a rectangular tart. Oh dear, I don’t have a rectangular tart pan. I may just have to make a trip to the new cooking store that opened down the street. We all have to make sacrifices for our craft. Actually, I have been waiting for an excuse to go in there, and now I’m all set!

In other news, I had another productive day. I finally finished folding and putting away my laundry. I still need to iron a few things, but they’ll wait until after the holiday . . . or I’ll wear them wrinkled. Wizard brought down Moose’s mountain of laundry. I swear, I don’t know what that kid has been doing for clean clothes. He must have been stealing Wild Thing’s things. I must have done 5 loads for Moose alone, plus his comforter. I dread having to carry it all upstairs and put it away. I’m secretly hoping that Markie will decide to come back and help me with the laundry. That would make me so happy.

Wizard and I went in search of a new desk chair for WineGuy and some folding chairs for our dinner guests next week. We aborted our mission at the new SuperTarget after chasing down some folding chairs for an hour there. We then went to Staples next door and scored a big hit for WineGuy’s new chair: $250.00 Lane executive chair marked down to $124.00; the manager knocked off another 10% because I took the floor model. Sweet! I love a bargain. WineGuy likes the new chair, too. After dinner, I went out again, this time with Wild Thing. We headed straight for Super WalMart and found the exact folding chairs I wanted, and plenty of them, too. In all, a good day.

Tomorrow brings more cooking. I will post the turkey stock recipe for those who asked.

Last year, I was whoring around in Tampa.
3 thoughts on “What a Tart!

  1. ::drooling::

    in other news, i have a recipe from, of all places, “vegan with a vengeance” for an apple pie with a graham crust. no, i’m not a vegan (nor do i play one on TV), but i love to read cookbooks. and i made this one last t-day and it was a huge hit. see, i love to bake, but my pet peeve in life is that i hatehateHATE to roll out pie crusts. the graham crust is a mash-in-the-pan deal. and it was soooooooo good.

    but your tart, i bet it looked perfect! and tasted even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

