End With A Bang

Literally.

Yesterday, after

  • (a) sitting all morning in the salon having my hair colored and cut and my face waxed and threaded, and having a pedicurist cut me too deep;
  • (b) receiving another “friendly” phone call from one of Wizard’s teachers;
  • (c) picking up my new iPhone but spending an hour online and on the landline just to activate it;
  • (d) hearing from the housekeeper that the boys’ rooms were trashed (again);
  • (e) sending Wizard back to his locker to retrieve his lunch box before we left school;
  • (f) returning home to find out that when Wizard put his lunchbox in the car, he left his backpack and lacrosse equipment at school; and
  • (g) making the 5-mile trip back to school to retrieve everything . . .

while stopped at a red light, I was rear-ended. I was in a piss-poor mood and had the three kids in the car. After ascertaining the boys were OK, I stormed out of the car to ask for the woman’s insurance, registration and driver’s license. All the dingbat could say was “I’m sorry. I’m sorry! There’s really no damage to your car.” Honey, you picked the wrong day and the wrong broad to tangle with. “Get me your driver’s license and information NOW! You just smashed into me, and I’ve got three kids in the car.” The stupid bitch (SB) never even asked if my children were OK, and then she refused to give me her information until the police arrived.

Fortunately, I had my newly-activated iPhone in my pocket. My first call was to 911. [What an auspicious way to inaugurate the phone.] Big kudos to the County Sheriff’s Office and Fire Department. The cop arrived in less than 5 minutes, and EMS was there not 5 minutes later. The boys were physically fine, but a little shaken up. The younger ones were fascinated with the lights and sirens of the emergency vehicles. The cop came over to me and asked me what happened. I gave her the facts, then she approached SB for her side of the story. We were 2 miles from home, so I called WineGuy to come help. He picked up the boys and took them home to do homework. SB and I waited another 30 minutes for the cop to write the report. I finally arrived home at 5:45 p.m., nearly two hours after I set out to pick up the boys from school.

WineGuy brought in food for dinner and fed everyone, including me. He had stopped at a local gourmet grocery store earlier to buy me some of their homemade chicken soup because I’ve been running a fever for 2 days. What a thoughtful guy! By the time dinner ended, my head was pounding, my fever was raging again (101.3ºF), and I started that tubercular coughing like I had earlier this year. The three Advil took their time in bringing the fever down, only after I submerged myself in a tepid bath. I was up half the night coughing in the La-Z-Mom chair until WineGuy came looking for me at 3:00 a.m. He suggested I sit in a hot shower, which helped. I finally got a little sleep.

Now as I celebrate the end of NaBloPoMo – more successfully than last year – I am nursing a pot of Tension Tamer tea, in my grandmother’s old teapot, and still coughing up a lung.

Plus ça change, plus c’est la meme chose.

8 thoughts on “End With A Bang

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling well again. I hope that cough goes away soon.

    I’m happy, however, to hear no one was hurt in the accident.

    Tension Tamer is a great tea.

  2. Ah yes, some tea – that is what I need on this rainy windy night.

    So glad you are all ok, but sorry the day was such a mess and that you are sick again. I hope the Zone boys are wise enough to let you rest this weekend and get better.

  3. phew, no wonder you’re exhausted, what with everything that’s been going on in your life, and then you go do nablopomo. … i couldn’t face it second time around

    that lazy-mom chair sounds great

    and tension tamer tea….what’s in it?

  4. Talk about a sucky day! And I’d underline the “stupid” in SB — who would really think you could get away with not giving your info to someone you just rear-ended?

    Back in June, I got rear-ended at a red light, on my way to my fiancé’s medical school graduation, which was also the day before our wedding. No one was hurt.) These things never happen at a good time, do they?

Leave a Reply

