Freezing

It’s cold here in SW Florida. Really! Last night the temperature dropped to 34ºF overnight in The Zone.

florida-freeze.jpg

You know it’s cold in Florida when:

  • We actually had to put the heat on in the house.
  • WineGuy agreed to put the lightweight down duvet on our bed.
  • The pool ran the filtration system all night in “freeze protection mode” so the pipes wouldn’t freeze.
  • We wear sweaters and jackets.
  • Wizard chooses to wear long pants instead of the ubiquitous shorts.

I can hear you all snickering as I write. Stop it! You won’t be laughing when the cold weather kills off part of the orange crop, and the price of your morning orange juice skyrockets. We warm-blooded sun-babies are suffering down here.

That’s it. I’m leaving . . . bundling up in my leather jacket and going to the grocery store.

Hmph.

6 thoughts on “Freezing

  1. LOL!

    Sorry, sorry. I shouldn’t laugh. Or snicker. But I can’t help myself.

    It was 8 degrees when I rolled out of bed this morning. It’s up to about 12 now. Almost balmy. 8)

  2. It is hard not to snicker, because we didn’t even get up to double digits today, but I know I ask for it by living in Maine. 😉

  3. I am with you!!! I couldn’t believe how cold it was this morning. There were snow flurries in Daytona this morning. I didn’t have to scrape frost off my windows because the humidity level was way too low. It is sad when you have “Red Flag” warnings for wild fires and temperatures below freezing at the same time. It is time for some “Captain Cocoa” 🙂

  4. 10 degrees this morning. 10. do you know washington dc doesn’t cope well when there is a) precipitation of any kind or b) freezzzzzzing temps? why, i suspect legislators are not in today. (wait. it’s friday. i don’t think they work fridays anyway.)

    look at it this way: here’s an excuse to get yourself a really nice cashmere something-or-other 😉

Leave a Reply

