Twins and Other Coincidences

Yesterday’s post reminded me of how many sets of twins I knew growing up. There were:

  • Laura and Lisa, neighbors and friends across the street
  • Louis and Jon, friends from Hebrew School and then college
  • Debbie and Diane, classmates from elementary through high school
  • Lesley and Laura, classmates from elementary through high school
  • The Quacks (whose names I forget), high school classmates
  • Robert and Robin, high school classmates
  • David and Lawrence, college friends. Oddly enough, David and Louis were roommates in college.
  • Niece T and Niece Av, The Egg’s daughters

I always found this quite amazing, especially considering these were all naturally-occurring twins. There were no fertility drugs back in the early 1960s when most of these people were born.

The other thing that struck me was how many of my family members share birthdays. I guess that’s bound to happen in a large family. Here’s what I mean:

  • Jan. 10: SILL and her son, Nephew J
  • Mar. 2: Doc Bro and his daughter, Niece Al
  • Mar. 17: SIL R and our nephew, Nephew E
  • Dec. 13: Uncle Oz (deceased), his granddaughter, Cousin B, and my niece, Niece Ar

Do you have any strange and/or wonderful coincidences to report?

3 thoughts on “Twins and Other Coincidences

  1. I don’t know if this is strange or wonderful, but it occurs to me that I’ve never known any twins at all until my brother’s twins came along.

    As for birthday coincidences:

    My birthday is Pearl Harbor Day.

    My husband’s birthday is the date of the start of the Gulf War.

    My youngest son’s birthday is V-E Day.

    And the final episode of M*A*S*H aired in 1983 on my oldest son’s birthday.

  2. It is coincidence that you should publish this post just days after Mojo declared that, “There is no such thing as twins.” We explained he was mistaken, but you could tell he didn’t believe us.

Leave a Reply

