Week One

Some of the August Moms and some of my local friends started on diet and exercise plans in the new year. One friend, BB, even enrolled in the weight loss program of the overpriced, undertrained local bariatric physician. She’s on a liquid diet for 30 days in addition to a rigorous exercise regimen. It all made my head spin and felt like too much pressure. I have struggled with my weight my entire life but am now facing the reality of health problems related thereto if I don’t make some changes.

Me? I’ve been on every diet under the sun, except for Atkins (too much meat), South Beach (too restrictive), and The Zone. Last month, my doctor reported my sugar was borderline high. WineGuy said not to sweat it, but then my father’s death made me think again. Realistically, I was feeling fat and lethargic, dumpy, crummy, nasty, etc. Dr. H said “exercise”. She might as well have said “eat brussels sprouts” because there was no way I would do either. Then I thought about some sage advice I heard from a fellow chorister, “Move. You’ve just got to get moving.”

So I did. I started walking last week. I walked every other day for 30 minutes at a time around the track at school. I felt good enough that I’m going to try and walk more days this week. I slept better on those days, ate better, drank more water. Better all the way around. The only thing is that the anterior and posterior cruciate ligaments in my left knee are killing me. The knee is stiff and sore and not feeling too strong. But I kept walking. I walked about 4 miles total last week, not nearly enough to keep up with TPGoddess’s Move 2008 challenge, but enough to get me off my wide behind. Enough to shed 3.2 lbs off the scale this week.

Week One was a good start for me. Let’s see if I can follow my own advice to the August Moms’ Weight Loss Group:

  • take it one step at a time
  • make one small change every few days
  • keep going

I’ll try to post updates here. I don’t want to feel pressured, just motivated to keep moving. If I can do that, it will be a huge improvement and difference in my lifestyle.

10 thoughts on “Week One

  1. No pressure from me!! I will be glad to be a cheerleader . . . Great job!

    So, which morning shall we go for a whole grain bagel with lite cream cheese?

  2. Good for you! And a big congrats on the weight shed.

    You know (I think) that last year I could barely walk half a block. Your advice is fantastic because that’s how you build a good exercise program. In the past I’ve tried to do too much, too soon and it NEVER worked.

    I know what you mean about feeling pressured vs. feeling motivated. But I will mention this: I don’t think anyone is supposed to keep up with TPGoddess’s Move2008 challenge. It’s about our own personal challenges. Doesn’t matter how many miles (or whatever) per week. It’s all good.

  3. You go, girl! I’m proud of you for getting out there and loving yourself. I struggle with the same stuff and started a new food/exercise program last week; http://www.JillianMichaels.com. I am motivated and focusing on how I am loving myself by giving myself healthy foods and exercising. Keep it up!

  4. Hey! Good for you! Also – Move08 is about setting your OWN attainable goals. Keep that carrot close enough that you can smell it and believe you can do it. So, what you just started is exactly what I had in mind – simply move. Doesn’t matter how much. Just start a new habit of moving, even a little bit regularly.
    We all have our own sets of goals.

    Don’t you love how it makes you feel? I always notice the sleeping/energy balance when I move.

    Rah rah rah! Keep on moving and you are doing great!

  5. That is awesome. Good for you; you are an inspiration. I, too, need to get off my duff and get moving. Maybe we can have a virtual world support group. I have about 35 lbs to lose, which is enough to feel daunting and not so much that I don’t beat myself up constantly for “why don’t you just lose it already??” Arrggh. Keep up the good work!!

  6. Alto2, that is awesome. You are an inspiration…enough so that it actually crossed my mind to get off my ever-so-much-more-ample-than-usual behind and move it.

    No pressure here – just keep on doing what you’re doing! And I always appreciate all your cheerleading and good diet tips. They always put me back on track.

    Kar

Leave a Reply

