Hot and Cold

I’m always hot, and WineGuy despite his girth is always cold. This is a big problem in the hot and humid Zone.

We keep the house at 78ºF day and night.

The problem is that when WG gets home from work, he changes his long-sleeved dress shirt for a polo shirt. Before too long, he’s sniffling and sneezing, saying “it’s too cold in here”. Meanwhile, I’m sitting on the leather couch and sweating through my cotton clothing.

Every night the dialogue goes, “It’s cold in here. Aren’t you cold?”

“No, I’m roasting. My back is sweating. Here, feel this.”

“No, you feel fine. I’m freezing. It’s so cold in here. My throat has a tickle, and I’m getting sick.”

“So, turn off the a/c.”

“Then, you’ll be too hot.”

“Yes, but you won’t get sick and complain that the a/c is too cold.”

And on it goes. WG has been complaining about it being too cold in here for the last few nights. He turned off the a/c the other night before bed, and it was positively stifling in our room, behind closed doors and without a fan. I laid down to sleep and couldn’t breathe, so I slept under the fan in the guest room. Same story last night, but he put on his bathrobe to keep warm. I then turned off the a/c to keep him quiet, and he turned it back on to appease me. Trust me. There is no appeasing me with a/c if he’s coughing, sneezing, moaning, and groaning about being sick. I got up and turned the system off again and headed for the guest room.

This morning, I crawled back into my own bed at about 6:15 a.m. only to find WG awake, wrapped in his bathrobe and complaining: he coughed all night; he couldn’t lie down; he had to sleep in the recliner chair. Wah, wah, wah. He left for work then called me 45 minutes later asking me to please bring him some throat lozenges to the office (2 blocks from the kids’ camp). I obliged.

Tonight, I imagine we’ll repeat these patterns. I guess I’ll have to get used to having no a/c and not sleeping in my own bed. Maybe it will motivate WG to have us intall a ceiling fan in our room … without first asking about the cost. Otherwise, he’ll have to accept sleeping in an empty bed.

If Alto2 is not cool, abstinence will rule. 😉

4 thoughts on “Hot and Cold

  1. heh. sounds like my house, only i’m always too cold and having a hard time breathing when the air is on. and my husband is only happy when it’s polar. marriage is a wonderful institution. especially if there’s a spare bed 😉

  2. Okay, this might sound crazy since you have central air, but why not buy a small window a/c unit for the guest room? I am totally on your side – I must have it cool when I sleep. I can’t sleep unless I have sheets and a thin blanket pulled up so the room needs to be very cool. I also have to sleep and won’t if I’m hot.

    Don’t the kids complain about the heat at night? Mine would have a fit if it were hot!

Leave a Reply

