Monday Music Mambo 2008/2

Last week The Zone wanted to know what song defined your teenage years.

This week The Zone wants to know, if you’re married or otherwise committed,

What is “your song”?

WineGuy and I celebrated 16 years of marriage on October 31. [Yes, that’s right. We were married on Halloween. That dress was the best costume I’ve ever had! πŸ˜‰ ] We met and married in 1992 and struggled to agree on a song that defined us. WineGuy was enamored of “The Bramble and The Rose“. He loved the music and the lyrics, but I — pop-loving princess that I was am –wouldn’t hear of using a [gasp] folk song at my wedding. I thought our song should be “More Than Words” by Extreme. WineGuy would have none of that.

So, there we were, on the afternoon of August 23, 1992*, stuck in his parents’ condo way inland in Fort Lauderdale. I evacuated my apartment on Miami Beach, and WG evacuated his home near Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. There was no food in the condo, so we went out to dinner to the only place that was still open, Lester’s Diner. Thunderheads and blue sky swirled overhead as we entered the diner. The jukebox was playing

and that became our song.

*the eve of Hurricane Andrew
5 thoughts on “Monday Music Mambo 2008/2

  1. Robert Plant! Oh, I love it you closet rocker πŸ˜‰ I love this song.

    I forgot to comment last week, but teenage years would have to be any 80s syntho pop (Culture Club, Wham! Adam Ant) but mostly dominated by Styx and Journey.

    Our song eh? You know, we don’t have any one really. We’ve each made love song cd’s for the other as we are both rather sappy in that department. Should we ever properly get married I have no idea if we would ever settle on one song!!

  2. Like Christina I forgot to come up with the song that defined my teen years. I think I’ll work on that this week because I’m heading out to visit with my Mom at the end of this week and I’ll need some saved posts if I want to keep up with NaBloPoMo. (Not sure why I signed up other than it helps, lately, to do things that keep me from isolating. More than you wanted to know, I’m sure.)

    I really can’t wait to answer this question. “Our song” came on the radio when we were out with M the Younger and his fiancee, and they were cracking up about our dark humour. We’ve been trying to pick a new song because “our song” doesn’t really seem appropriate for when they play the parents’ songs at the wedding reception.

  3. “Always” – it was popular the year we got married (’88) and it is what I had engraved in DH’s ring. I still love “More Than Words” and recently put it on my Zune again after many years of not hearing it. There’s a Hawaiian pop singer named Justin who remade it about 5-10 years ago and it’s really nice. “Sea of Love” was the theme of my senior prom! πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: My night out « Trees and flowers and birds!

  5. heh. a little delayed reaction here, as i’ve been swamped. our “song” is little wing by jimi hendrix. for the record, we played sting’s version at our wedding. it seemed like a good idea at the time, though no one will ever equal the original — and lots have tried.

    the guy who played the sax solo passed away recently. the sax solo really, truly soars.

Leave a Reply

