Monday Music Mambo 2008/4

I am cooking up a storm for Thanksgiving this week. I need music to keep  me going in the kitchen, as I whip up those five pounds of mashed potatoes, stir the homemade gravy, and roll out that second batch of tart-crust dough. Broadway songs are good because I can sing with them. Barbra Streisand music, especially the “Funny Girl” soundtrack, falls into the same category. Compilations of New Orleans and JazzFest music — like the Dixie Cups’ “Iko Iko” — are great motivators. Of course, there are also lots of oldies (Rick Astley, Gloria Estefan) and disco hits (ABBA Gold, anyone?) to get me through the day.

This week, The Zone wants to know:

What music gets you through your most demanding chores?

Note: This is the last Monday Music Mambo of NaBloPoMo 2008. Let me know if there’s an interest in continuing this thread.

9 thoughts on “Monday Music Mambo 2008/4

  1. When I was doing especially tedious lab work in grad school, the soundtrack from Les Miserables got me through. I had fun envisioning my fellow grad students as assorted characters… we had a Fauntine, a Javert, etc. plus a couple of psychotic lab techs who were dead ringers for the Thernardiers!

  2. I am going to tap into Calvin’s web cam–want to share your menu? I am making the boring stuff! Happy Thanksgiving to all at the Zone. I love you all!

  3. Panda found her “cleaning song” this morning: “Christmas Shoes.” I let her as long as she was working, but you are quite fortunate to be Jewish if it means that tune is not on CD in your home.

Leave a Reply

