Infection Trifecta

This week has been the sickest week ever in The Testosterone Zone. Wizard was home sick from school all week. He saw the pediatrician three times last week and was ultimately diagnosed with H1N1 flu and a secondary ear infection. The ear infection presented itself at 3:00 a.m. on the Saturday morning of his friend’s Bar Mitzvah. WineGuy wanted to take him into his office at that hour to examine the ears and order some antibiotics, but Wizard wouldn’t get dressed. Bad choice:  Wizard’s ear drum perforated sometime Saturday afternoon and has been draining  ever since. Very “ew” and disgusting.

Moose found out he had strep throat and has been on antibiotics all week. He roused enough to attend one day of school last week. He is still running a low-grade fever, although we don’t know why. Wild Thing did not have strep but was medicated for it, because of a suspicious-looking sore throat. Wild Thing developed some preliminary flu-like symptoms, so WineGuy gave WT his Tamiflu prescription.

Why did WineGuy have a Tamiflu prescription? Because I had one. Why did I have one? Because by mid-week, I had a sore throat, a headache, a cough, and was wheezing. I went to a doctor — not my own doctor, but that’s another story — who listened to my wheezing lungs and gave me ‘scripts for a Medrol pack (cortisone, to reduce systemic inflammation) and Tamiflu (to arrest any flu burgeoning in me). That doc graciously wrote a Tamiflu ‘script for WineGuy. By the end of the week, I had been to my pharmacy at least three times. I spent one entirely sleepless night up coughing the entire time. The following night I took a hit of some cough syrup with codeine I had left over from another illness. I am just about to take a dose of that “robust Robitussin” tonight because I am still coughing and wheezing slightly.

WineGuy remains thankfully unscathed. Wizard is still coughing. WT looks pale, and Moose has no energy. The only positive things I can say are: (a) it’s the beginning of the school year, and no one is missing too much work; and (b) I’m getting 23+ mpg driving my new “ride” all over the city to doctors and pharmacies. My priority this week is to choose my own primary care physician and make an appointment to see him or her for a physical. This early flu season does not bode well for anyone.

Caveat lector: Wash your hands!

7 thoughts on “Infection Trifecta

  1. Oh, what a nightmare! Sounds as though you might have turned a collective corner towards better health (hurrah!), but you’re right: it’s going to be a long season.

  2. You poor thing. I wish I could send you all a gallon of chicken soup! On the plus side, I guess this means your family will be done with H1N1 for the winter, which is probably a good thing. Stay strong!

  3. UGH! I hear ya. I’ve been down with it for the past 9 days. I don’t know if it’s H1N1 (no fever), but it’s miserable and I’m not done yet. Also, Macy is coughing this morning. Oh, no!!!!! I am so utterly sick of being sick….

  4. That’s terrible! We haven’t had any known H1N1 in my town yet this fall, but everyone seems to have everything else – all sorts of other flus, pneumonia, strep, coughing, aches, pains, stomach bugs, sore throats, fevers…every malady under the sun! It’s crazy! I’ve never heard of so much sickness this early in the school year.

Leave a Reply

