Swine

Pigs are swine. This is a fact.

Men are swine. This is demonstrable.

County health department employees are swine, too. Why? Because they immunized Wild Thing with the regular flu vaccine this morning instead of the H1N1 vaccine. I am LIVID. There isn’t enough invective — there aren’t enough expletives — in this world to express the depth of my rage. When WT came home with this tale, I nearly hit the roof. Instead, I called the County Health Department and got through to the Immunization Director. She tracked down my child’s vial and batch number to confirm he received seasonal flu vaccine. She also informed me the County will come back to the Snooty School on Friday to administer H1N1 vaccine to the 60-75 kids who were affected.

At 4:32 p.m., some 6+ hours after my child got the wrong shot, County Health Dept. Nurse Barbara called, in a chipper voice, to tell me my kid got the wrong vaccine.

So, I ripped her a new one. She hung up on me.

Then, I called the Snooty School nurse, who fled campus at 3:20 p.m., of course, and left her a very stern message. She’ll probably report me to the school administration. I hope she does because I’ll give them an earful, too, like I have never done before.

The moral of the story is that when I, personally, take Wild Thing in for the H1N1 vaccination clinic on Friday, I am going to inspect every last credential of every nurse that even looks at my kid, AND I, personally, am going to inspect the vial, batch, and box of the vaccine to be administered to my child. So help me G-d, if anyone interferes with me, I will beat the shit out of her.

Swine Sign

2 thoughts on “Swine

  1. Go get ’em!

    Seriously though, this is disheartening. I know after my experience this summer of being misdiagnosed with a PE that I’ll be double and triple checking any medical decisions made on my behalf. Wake up calls abound!

Leave a Reply

