Landslide of a Week

I took my love and I took it down
Climbed a mountain and turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow-covered hills
’til the landslide brought it down
Oh, mirror in the sky -What is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changin’…ocean tides
Can I handle the seasons of my life?
I don’t know…..I don’t know
Well I’ve been afraid of changin’
because I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder, even children get older
And I’m getting older too….
So, take my love…take it down
Climb a mountain and turn around
and if you see my reflection in the snow-covered hills…
well the landslide will bring it down
The landslide will bring it down

I love Fleetwood Mac. There is nothing like Stevie Nicks’s raspy voice dragging you through the pain of  “Landslide” or the rockin’ witchiness of “Rhiannon“. I particularly love the drum introduction to “Tusk,” too. The topic of Mick Fleetwood’s merry band came up at dinner tonight. WineGuy and I escaped the shrill madness of The Zone to eat dinner out alone. We ended up at the local deli — mostly because we could get seated on a Friday night — and found ourselves next to a 40-something couple wearing Bon Jovi shirts. I love Bon Jovi, so of course I struck up a conversation after a quick and snarky exchange about our stupid waiter. We all talked about concerts we had recently attended featuring favorite bands from our youth. The discussion went from Bon Jovi to the Eagles to, obviously, Fleetwood Mac.

As I was trolling around to find a good video of “Landslide” along with the lyrics, I came across a biography of Stevie Nicks. I was shocked to learn that she turned 62 this year. Holy crap! She still has an amazing voice. I just heard her 2007 performance of “Stand Back” on “Ellen,” and I was blown away by the clarity and power of her voice. But, what really got to me was the acoustic version of “Landslide” that Stevie sang later in the show. At 62, most women’s voices are starting to go:  I know because I sing with plenty of 60 year-olds in chorale. The pitch sags; the vocal cords have too much tremolo; the high notes fade away. Not Stevie. Granted, the newer recording of “Landslide” is in a lower key than originally performed, but it is equally powerful.

Balm for the end of the week:  “Landslide”s from 2007 and 1977, respectively.

The video on this 1977 version is not too good, but the sound quality is. You can clearly hear Stevie perform this one in a higher key. I wish I had good enough pitch to tell you the difference, but I don’t.

And, if you haven’t slid all the way down to the bottom of your rope, as I have this week, here are the Dixie Chicks singing their arrangement of “Landslide”. The vocals are pretty good, but the accompaniment is wonderful.

Can I handle the seasons of my own life??

6 thoughts on “Landslide of a Week

  1. I am just about hyperventilating over here! Not because I’m a Stevie Nicks fan, because I’m not–I know, I know, but you’ll get over it–but because YOU’RE BAAAACCCCKKKK!!!!! I checked in just on a whim; I had pretty much given up. And here you are! You inspire me! I’m not a NaBloPoMo type, but I have been writing some new stuff and working on some old…so in your honor, I’ll commit to writing every day for the remainder of the month. (Gulp! What have I done…? )

    🙂 Happy Sprite

    • OK, Sprite, it’s a literary throwdown. You just need to fess up where you’re writing so that I can keep tabs on you just like you’re keeping tabs on me.

      • Oooh….this could be fun…. Thing is, I’m not blogging at the moment. Working on–oh yes–paper. I did put an old piece in our drawer in the Gallery of Writing, so you can see that and read some of my students’ work. Check out Ricky, Rachel, and Cleo–fun stuff. I’m hoping to get some of the seniors to cough up their college essays, but that’s a little tougher… Anyway, it’s all at http://galleryofwriting.org, and you search for us under “T”… Trying to find a way to raise the visibility of writing on a campus with no hallways.

        What you and I should do is have lunch and share. Are you here Thanksgiving weekend?

  2. This is one of my all-time favorite songs. My first concert experience was Fleetwood Mac at the Spectrum in Philadelphia in 1974 (or maybe it was 1975.. you’d think I’d remember that). Two other bands opened for them. Wishbone Ash and a then little known band named Journey.

    The most memorable part of the concert was the silence in the audience when Stevie Nicks sang Landslide.

Leave a Reply

