What Do These Things Have In Common?

Centaurs, dancing hippos, a demon in a mountain, and a torrent of water?

I’ll wait while you think about it …

Alright, if I add Mickey Mouse and Leopold Stokowski, would you get it?

Oh, come on … It’s “Fantasia,” and it’s going to be mine, Mine, MINE … because disease makes shopping easy. OK, I’ll stop the seeming non sequiturs and explain myself. This movie enchanted me as a child. I’ve seen it once or twice again over the years, but my children have never seen it. This past summer I tried to order “Fantasia” and “Fantasia 2000” DVDs from Amazon.com. The shipper never shipped them, and I didn’t get my movies. I was very disappointed.

Fast forward to today:  Moose is home from school. He’s running a fever, has a sore throat, inflamed tonsils; the doctor said it’s neither strep throat nor the flu — just some errant virus. When he had this two weeks ago, I stocked up on juice and ginger ale for the house. The resident javelinas slurped it all up, and there was nothing left for Moose today. Since Sam’s Club is right next door to the pediatrician, we stopped in to stock up on a few things. Before we ever got to the juice and frozen treats, Moose found a new “Cars” DVD. We brought it home and cracked it open. Inside we found a miniature brochure of current and upcoming Disney DVD releases (and Bluray, too, for technophiles). On page three, in brilliant Disney-chrome color I saw “First Time Ever on Blu-ray:  Fantasia 2-Movie Collection”.

Trembling with excitement, I threw some food and juice at the Moose and ran over to the computer. DisneyBluray.com is happy to pre-order the DVDs for me at full price, but I got smart before completing that order and found the same items at Amazon.com for less. I also pre-ordered Disney’s live-action film, “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice”. I plan to give them to Moose for Chanukah, which comes in early December this year. I hope he will love them as much as I do.

In the meantime, enjoy my favorite ballerinas as a preview:

3 thoughts on “What Do These Things Have In Common?

  1. How exciting! I have the “Fantasia” on video and the poor tape is almost worn out from my sons watching it long ago. My oldest granddaughter always wants to watch it when she comes to visit. I’d love to have it on DVD.

    I hope Moose feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

