Begin Cleaning

My birthday was in the middle of December, and at the end of the year, I was still waiting for a birthday present. Sometimes it takes my husband a while to figure out what he’s doing. On the very last day of the year, WineGuy decided on my gift: a new iMac computer! ::happy dance::

The current computer a 20″ PowerPC iMac from 2004, is nearly lame (slow processor) and blind (dying video card). So, this big-ass woman ordered herself a big-ass computer:

a 27″ iMac with 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 processors; 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM – 2x4GB; 1TB Serial ATA Drive; AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1GB GDDR5 video card; and a Magic Trackpad. It’s mine, ALL MINE, and I’m not going to share it with anyone else … except for my husband … because I should. The new computer, to be named “Mama Mac,” should be here by the beginning of next week. In preparation, I am backing up iMac20 to an external hard drive. I have the proper cable to migrate data from the old computer to the new one, when it arrives, and then I’ll move everything into iCloud.

However, in order to actually work with two computers on my desk next week, I need to be able to actually see the top of the desk. The holidays wreaked their usual habit on my deskwork. Now, my desk looks like a refuge for lost mail. The old Rolodex is trapping the phone next to the computer. The pile on the left contains this year’s school pictures, which need to be filed. The pile in the left corner contains books I’m supposed to read. The giant pile on the right contains everything: mail, fliers, magazines, bills to pay and file. There could be a small child in there for all I know. I just need to clean it this weekend. Riiiiiight: my mother is coming for a visit tomorrow and just decided to extend her stay a day. No desk-cleaning for the next three days. Oh well.

Maybe I’ll just order the new printer instead. I can perch it on top of the old printer and all the flotsam surrounding it.

2 thoughts on “Begin Cleaning

  1. Heh – you may have noticed my rather small desk area when you visited. I actually got it quite cleaned off and organized and useable during my break from work. I spent the better part of 3 days doing web content work and helping my dad format his memoirs for Kindle (not an easy task!) and enjoyed the clean space. Then I was done & couldn’t really yet start on tax work so the last few days of my break were spent…..piling crap all over the desk! In no time at all it is back to pre-holiday status…Alex returns tomorrow night with all of his homework requirements and I feel completely overwhelmed by the mess in that corner.

    IOW – I totally understand!

Leave a Reply

