When September Ends

“Summer has come and passed. The innocent can never last. Wake me up when September ends.”

~ Green Day

Autumn comes slowly to Southwest Florida. Almost surreptitiously, evening temps drop a bit; the mornings are slightly less humid. It won’t really feel like fall here until November, when the rest of the country is gearing up for winter.

With the end of September, the Jewish High Holy Days are nearly over, and my father’s yahrzeit approaches. It’s never an easy time for me because my father’s death immediately followed the August96 Moms Reunion in 2007. That year, I got home from San Antonio on a Monday. My first great-niece was born on Tuesday, and my father died on Thursday that week. My Jeopardy! appearance aired the following week, and life was foggily chaotic for a very long time.

Regrettably, this year, for the first time ever, I will not be able to attend the August96 Moms Reunion:  it’s being held in Savannah, GA, a  place not easily (or cheaply) accessible by plane from here. I would have driven the eight hours, but I am always so exhausted now that I feared making the long drive alone. Additionally, there are obligations relating to Wizard for which I must be present. I just can’t leave.

Now that September is over, we face the ugly reality into which Wizard has thrown us. Innocence has gone. Memory rests solely with my father; my mother is moving on. The years have gone so fast.

One thought on “When September Ends

Leave a Reply

