Unfriendly Facebook

I like Facebook. It’s a great way for me to keep up with family and friends around the world, but I find it pointless to friend local people whom I see regularly. Yet, friend requests from locals still trickle in. I’d like to figure out a way to politely decline without offending anyone.

What really bothers me about FB are the persistent ads and friend recommendations that crowd the sidebar. The ads especially. While I appreciate that somehow FB has invaded my closet, divined my size, and offers appropriate shopping recommendations, I despise that I have to sign up for any of those offers. If I just want to look at a blouse or a dress, why do I have to provide the identity thieves with my information? Can’t I just quickly peek at that tribal tunic to determine how stupid it would look on my round, nearly 50-year-old frame?

Oh, and while I’m complaining, I’d like to add that I’m sick and tired of clicking through five levels of ads and offers just to play a few, futile rounds of my favorite online games. Can’t Zynga and King.com provide players a way to opt out of all that visual vomit? P.S. I don’t want to pay for any of these privileges, thankyouverymuch.

Leave a Reply

