Fool Me Once

We are all trying to find our way in a world without WineGuy. I’m encouraging the boys to be kind to each other, to be tolerant of each other’s moods. So, when Wizard asked to come home from summer session for the weekend, I said “yes,” thinking he needed some family time. That was my first mistake. 

Wizard spent the weekend eating his way through two refigerators and three freezers. He deigned to accompany us to services on Saturday, but he complained endlessly about staying for our usual Kiddush lunch afterwards, something the rest of us enjoy. He complained about going to Carrabba’s for dinner Saturday night and then insisted on going out for Sunday breakfast. Wizard dallied all day, not writing an essay that was due Sunday night. He was aggressive playing in the pool with his brothers. The topper was his bullying both younger boys while I was out to dinner with friends. Moose only told me about that this morning. 

By 9:00 a.m. today I’d had enough. I told him to be packed and ready to go back to college. We were leaving at 10:00 sharp. Ten rolls around. Wild Thing was ready, and Wizard was nowhere to be found. He sauntered in a few minutes later and interrogated me where we were going, what errands we had, and why he had to go.  Wizard then insulted me, insulted WT, and copped an arrogant attitude. I did what any good mother would (not) do:  I lost my sh*t and screamed at him. 

“Pack your stuff and get in the car now or you can walk the 15 miles back to school. Open your mouth to me again, and you won’t get another dime from me.”

Wizard packed up and got in the car, and I decided, at that moment, he can’t come back home. He upset Moose. He upset me. He was rude to WT. I will not have that toxicity in this house while we are trying to rebuild our lives. I wish I could say “never again”; the best I can say is “not anytime soon”. G-d grant me the strength to stick by my guns. 

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Once — the past 19 years — is enough. 

3 thoughts on “Fool Me Once

  1. Ugh. I am so so sorry he is up to usual behavior. Yeah – he needs to stay away and figure out his own version of the new ‘normal’ without making life so miserable for the rest of you.

  2. You’re still a good mom when you lose your sh*t and scream at your kid, if they deserve it. And it sounds like he did. Sending positive, healing thoughts your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

