Memorial Mitzvah Monday

According to the Hebrew calendar, today is officially the 5th anniversary of my father’s death. As a Jew, I am expected to say Kaddish (memorial prayers) for my father every year on his yahrzeit and  on other holy days. A minyan is required for a mourner to actually recite the Mourner’s Kaddish; in all sects other than Orthodox Judaism, a minyan consists of 10 Jewish men or women. During Zone tourist “season” it’s relatively easy to comprise a minyan on a Sunday night or Monday morning, but at this time of year, there are fewer people around. The regulars get tired of having to show up for every minyan.

Last night (Sunday), Zone Shul called a minyan for me and another woman saying Kaddish (Mrs. K). I warned all my kids that I expected them to get dressed and come with me and WineGuy so I could say Kaddish. That helped tremendously: we contributed 4 of 18 people who showed up last night. So, Mrs. K and I were able to stand up and honor our fathers appropriately according to Jewish tradition and law. Zone Shul called another minyan this morning for Mrs. K and me, but only 8 people showed up. (WineGuy, who had a full schedule of patients, texted me and offered to dash out of the office to make the minyan if we had only 9 people; I declined.) We couldn’t recite Kaddish but had to recite Psalm 23 instead — comforting but not the same. Because we didn’t have a minyan, the rabbi could not take out the Torah or chant “El male rachamim” (Ashkenazic Jewish funeral prayer) for either of us. I have mixed feelings about this:  although I would have liked to hear that prayer chanted, I would have fallen to pieces crying over its mournful melody and meaning. Now, the week is off to a cheerier start.

Showing up to help others say a prayer is a mitzvah, a good deed. I decided to live up to my obligation to show up for those morning minyans as needed during the week. I’m usually out and about, and it’s easy for me to drop in to the synagogue for a few minutes to help out a fellow congregant.

I’m asking you to do the same:  if someone or some cause needs you to help accomplish a task, please show up for a few minutes. It will make a huge difference in the other person’s day.