What a Tart!

Normally, I save the food posts for The Need to Feed. But, it’s 11:00 p.m., and I need something to talk about today. The Pumpkin Plum Tart (Gourmet magazine, Nov. 2007) was a big hit here. Pumpkin Plum TartWineGuy and all the boys loved it. I even ate a piece, and I really don’t like pumpkin. The difference was that the filling was a pumpkin custard, which I made with some very high-quality cassia cinnamon. It made all the difference in the world. I’m going to improve the result by increasing the amount of plum jam on the bottom and maybe mixing it with some cherry preserves to balance out the overly sweet pumpkin.

Speaking of tarts, I saw a great recipe for a Raspberry Tart in one of Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa cookbooks. The picture in that cookbook shows a rectangular tart. Oh dear, I don’t have a rectangular tart pan. I may just have to make a trip to the new cooking store that opened down the street. We all have to make sacrifices for our craft. Actually, I have been waiting for an excuse to go in there, and now I’m all set!

Continue reading