Cut Me Again

Doc Thelma, who is wise in all things, commented on my original cutting board post, passing along a recommendation for Epicurean® cutting boards. I read the review written by her friends who own a gourmet cooking store, then surfed over to Epicurean’s website. Things started to look up when I saw Epicurean’s “Big Board” series — because we don’t do anything in a small way in The Zone — specifically a 16″x21″ board. I read through the product descriptions and still had some questions.

I just called Epicurean’s customer service line and spoke with a terrifically helpful person. Miss Service described, in detail, the process by and materials of which Epicurean’s boards are made. When I inquired whether any of their boards had a groove, Miss Service explained that such a board used to be in the product line but was recently discontinued. Then, Miss Service offered to go down to Epicurean’s warehouse to see if there were any grooved boards left. She cautioned me that I would not have a choice of color, but that she would be happy to look around How’s that for helpful?

The question remains, if Epicurean does have a grooved board, whether I can live with this  homely color for the next 18 years.

"Nutmeg" color: ugly or not?

Give me your opinion.

KUDOS to Epicurean for great customer service!!

Brickbats to GE Customer Service, who could not answer my questions last night and hung up on me in the process. Don’t even get me started . . . my refrigerator thinks it’s a freezer, and my freezer thinks it’s a refrigerator. But, that’s a rant for another day.

Still on the hunt for a board, I found one on eBay that was the right LxW dimensions, but too thin. Then, I got smart and surfed through some articles and forum posts on the best foodie site ever, Chow.com. I found lot of input on wood vs. every other kind of board, including those Epicurean boards. The Epicurean boards had lots of complaints about a lingering chemical odor. 😦   I also found The Board Smith, who makes custom cutting boards. I just sent him a message and am waiting to hear back from him.